Couture “Eternal Love” Gothic Wedding Hat

 EternalLoveCouture

A couple years ago, I made the first “Eternal Love” hat as a wedding gift for a my lovely friend, Amanda.Cleaning out my crafting stuff I came across these two larger skulls and I was inspired all over again.  ❤

First I made a worbla base, then I covered it in white felt and added pearl trim.

IMG_7267 IMG_7266 IMG_7268

If you look closely you can see I started with the base attached to a headband, but I changed my mind later .

 I used epoxy for metal, plastic and fabric to do all the heavy-duty adhesive business. Here’s some progress during construction:

IMG_7271 IMG_7270

Then I added a tulle and feather spray. Using a needle and thread, I gathered tulle then hot glued the bunches to cover my base in a dreamy cloud of tulle.

IMG_7272 IMG_7278

I used cut out pieces of lace to cover unsightly seams in the fake skulls.

 IMG_7273 IMG_7274 IMG_7275

The last bit was to make a birdcage veil and attach alligator clips to hold the hat securely on a head. Again, I used epoxy adhesive for the strongest permanent hold. Stinky but effective.

IMG_7237 IMG_7239 IMG_7241

And here’s the finished hat! ❤

IMG_7227 IMG_7221

I embellished with rhinestone brooches and pearls I enhanced with individual rhinestones.

IMG_7228 IMG_7229

And of course, those are real working heart lockets:

IMG_7230 IMG_7232

EternalLoveCouture

Leave a Reply

