Gothic Batwing Cocktail Hat

BATWING-MAIN

This gothic batwing cocktail hat is one of my all-time favorites! I used a combo of black craft paint and clear acrylic spray paint on worbla to achieve a very bat-like texture on the wing.  Sadly, this is the best full photo I took before I shipped the hat to it’s new owner.

BATWING-PIECES-1A     BATWING-PIECES-1B

I started by sculpting my pieces in worbla.

BATWING-TEXTURE BATWING-INSIDE BATWING-TRIM

Then I painted the underside black and covered the cap piece first with felt and then with a swiss dot tulle. This left an ugly edge inside which I later covered with black rickrack.

BATWING-ASSEMBLE

Once everything was painted and/or covered, I assembled all my pieces and some embellishments including rhinestones and beaded chains.

BATWING-RHINESTONES      BATWING-EMBELLISHED

Using hot glue and tweezers I (painstakingly) applied every tiny rhinestone after attaching the wing to my cap. Tedious but worth it! ❤

BATWING-TOP-2     BATWING-BACK-2

I finished it up with a spray of swiss dot mesh behind the wing.  Seriously, I loved this cocktail so much it was difficult to send it away to its new owner!

Leave a Reply

