Let’s Be Online Besties!

Steampunk-Cutie-Mark

One of the drawbacks perks of being included in my inner circle of best friends and family is that I will obsess to the ends of the earth over every costume that ever touches your body. If we’re really close, chances are I’ve forced you to let me  offered to make you a Halloween costume at least once. I just can’t stand to see a good idea go to waste!  I pout for weeks when someone declines and then comes up with a crappy slapped together costume they made the day before a party.

The WORST is when someone asks me how to do something for a costume (the usual request being how to do something on the cheap) and then says “fuck it” and does the exact opposite; ending up with something more expensive and less effective then my original suggestion! ::cough:: Double Dragons 2012 ::cough, cough:: You know who you are…

But the worst is only occasionally. I’d say about 90% of the time (don’t worry no mathematicians were harmed in the writing of this post- its just a statistic I guessed at) it works out great. Fantastic ideas are given, people surprise me with their level of craftsmanship or I somehow end up on a costume bender going broke making 15 different costumes for various people. It’s that last one there that really takes the mickey outta me, so over the years I have learned to exercise some self control. Nowadays I still make costumes for people, but I now I always ask them to buy the supplies and sometimes actually pay me a small fee for the umpteen billion hours I’ve spent turning those supplies into something awesome.

In an effort to learn and grow (i.e. smack my inner perfectionist bitch into submission) this year I’ve decided to try something new. Simply designing costumes for other people. They give me their dream, I give them an idea with a hearty dose of how-to advice and then they are responsible for executing said idea. It’s been super fun so far, as my first request was for something very unique that I had to really put some extra thought into: Steampunk Rainbow Dash. Oh yes, you read that correctly. The science fiction sub-genre that combines steam powered machinery and the 19th century fashions of Victorian England and/or the American “Wild West” mashed up with… a flying, rainbow hued My Little Pony character.

Challenge accepted.

Thank you to Cat Fernandez for this amazing challenge! Making the Steampunk Rainbow Dash Cutie Mark was super fun, I can’t wait to finish designing the rest of this costume!

Do you have a challenge for me? Message me on Facebook or leave a comment on this post!

3 thoughts on “Let’s Be Online Besties!

Leave a Reply

