Best Fabrics for Crafting & Costumes

fabricWhen I’m looking for costume & craft fabrics I generally hope they are inexpensive, look awesome, feel good and are easy to work with. That being said, sometimes looks are everything. Cutting faux fur only ends one way- with looking like you murdered a Muppet and had no time to hide the evidence. Vinyl is not so comfy to wear- but you can’t beat that slick look for certain characters and/or accessories. Listed below are my personal top choices for costuming and crafting. If I see any one of my Top 3 on sale, I’ll buy versatile colors (black, white, brown, red) just to stock up for the future, even if I have no idea what I’ll use them for. If you’re a newbie and never bought fabric before, read this to avoid pain and humiliation when heading out to your local fabric store.

TOP 3 BEST FABRICS FOR COSTUMES & CRAFTS:

#1 Polyester Crepe
V-E-R-S-A-T-I-L-E. Nice weight and texture.

#2 Power Mesh
Great alternative to Chiffon (which frays like a bitch)! And it’s stretchy to boot!

#3 Tulle/Netting
Generally cheap. Versatile for costuming AND crafting.

MORE FAVORITES:
Lace
Faux Suede
Velvet
Metallic Spandex
Spandex
Pleather
Vinyl
Faux Fur
Fleece
Flannel

Leave a Reply

