Coming Soon! Like tomorrow.

For realz you guys, I like, totes love Halloween. It’s the best holiday that ever was, is and shall be. Unless someone answers my letters to Congress and they make my birthday a national holiday. Then it will be a close call. Halloween will definitely still be awesome…but my birthday, in June, will be the start to the “Halloween Season.” Like Thanksgiving is just the kickoff for all that Christmas bullsh*t.

To be honest that’s really how it is in my own personal nation anyways. Come July I’ve already nailed down a theme for my annual Halloween bash, begun narrowing down my own costume choice and begun casually peppering my conversations with smooth, subtle phrases like “Yeah this baby shower is so much fun.  Remember that time last year at Halloween, when that fun/sad/awkward/terrifying thing happened? Anyhoo, any thoughts on what you’ll dress up as this year?”

By August I’ve already begun ordering supplies from high quality, luxury shops like Oriental Trading Company, cluttered every corner of our house with nifty little craft projects and started watching Buffy (the TV series) and Nightmare Before Christmas on repeat.

By September, fuhgettaboudit. I’m already halfway finished turning our back room addition into a magical evil party lair, and I’ve escalated my costume inquiries into aggressive harassment. “So what are you gonna be? Did you decide what you’re gonna be? No, how ’bout now?  Well, will you know tomorrow? What are you thinking of possibly maybe considering being? Well, you’re certainly cutting it close aren’t you? I worry about you and that cavalier attitude of yours…”

Well this year, I’ve been handed a gift from the universe to help take the edge off. This afternoon one of my peeps posted on FB that she is in need of a cape. Well, obviously I know how to make a cape so I rushed to her assistance, because I am a gentleman. I know how to make several different styles of capes with various difficulty factors, (which maybe I’ll cover at a different time) but a simple basic cape is really one of the most versatile costume accessories on the planet. Plus she needs it like yesterday so I’m going to go with my super cheap and easy NO SEWING cape. Although, I admit that I’m generally pro-sewing, some peeps don’t have the skill or a machine, and I totes understand.

I’m off to go make said cape for said friend so rejoice! There shall be a post with pictures and instructions on the morrow! Peace out, bitches! XOXO

Leave a Reply

